Upcoming Events

Our events are a critical part of New Naratif’s activities and one of the primary ways with which members participate in our movement. This page lists upcoming events. Events are open to all unless indicated.

The Politics of Hope: 4th Singapore Literature Festival

  • 24 September (Thursday), 9.30 – 10.30 am SGT (9.30 pm EST/2.30 am BST). Hitting the Bull’s Eye: Joy Ho and Shirin Rafie. Comics artists in Singapore find themselves navigating enormous challenges when making what is deemed to be politically controversial art. Some of the challenges arise from their sexually or racially minoritized identities. How do they make art that hits its mark and yet continues to find an audience? Contributors to New Naratif, a movement for democracy, freedom of information, and freedom of expression in Southeast Asia, speak about their various strategies in surmounting these challenges in order to produce transformative political comics. Moderated by Deborah.
  • 01 October (Thursday), 8.00 – 9.00 am SGT (8.00 pm EST/1.00 am BST). Opening Address by Ping Jtin (PJ) Thum: “Is There Hope for Democracy?”. Democracy today is tied to the concept of the nation-state as the basic unit of political organization for humanity. Yet this was not always so: the nation-state is a relatively recent invention. As the nation-state and nationalism are weaponized as a means for legitimizing bigotry and exclusion, how can we as human beings move past this concept and what might a future model of political organization be? More information here.

Events During COVID-19

  • In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, New Naratif will not be holding any in-person events. The health and safety of our team, members and the general public are our top priority. We are currently discussing online events that we can hold. Feel free to suggest event ideas to Deborah, our Membership Engagement Coordinator. You can email her at deborah.augustin@newnaratif.com.